Page 1 of 1

How do I know if I have power noise?

Posted: Tue Dec 08, 2020 3:56 pm
by NilsOstergren
The noise floor in my voice recording booth is OK, but can part of it be caused by line noise?

How can I find that out?

And is this https://www.amazon.com/PS-Audio-U-HARV- ... B003081XBE a cure?

Re: How do I know if I have power noise?

Posted: Tue Dec 08, 2020 5:57 pm
by johnb
Nils,

I need more information on the noise, the type of noise, etc.
The link you posted looks like snake-oil. It's definitely a cure for a full wallet. ;)

Please post a recorded sample of the noise.
- John

Re: How do I know if I have power noise?

Posted: Sat Feb 13, 2021 3:51 pm
by Don_Goguen
A simple way to troubleshoot this would be to take a laptop with a bus powered interface and connect it to your mic in the vocal booth. Then kill the power main at the electrical box so there is no power in your space anywhere and record on battery power only from the laptop and compare the noise results.